Gittelson Jewelers Logo

The 4 Cs Guide to Diamonds

Not all diamonds are created equal. At Gittelson Jewelers, we select diamonds against our own personal rigid criteria to ensure that only the most beautiful diamonds adorn our customers.

The 4 Cs diamond education

What are the 4 Cs?

Every diamond, like a human fingerprint, has certain distinguishing characteristics. These are referred to as the 4Cs:

  • Cut
  • Color
  • Clarity
  • Carat

These are the globally accepted standards for assessing the quality of a diamond. Only the world’s most expertly crafted and beautiful diamonds earn the right to be shown at Gittelson Jewelers.

The 4 Cs of Diamonds

You can click on each category below to learn more about the 4 Cs of diamonds. There are so many decisions that come into buying the perfect diamond ring. Gittelson Jewelers has their preferred mix of the 4 Cs in each investment range you fall into.

The 4 Cs - diamond cut


Cut is determined by how a diamond’s facets interact with light.

The 4 Cs - diamond clarity


Clarity is a measure of the purity and rarity of the stone.

The 4 Cs - diamond color


Color refers to the natural tint inherent in white diamonds.

The 4 Cs - diamond carat


Carat denotes the weight of a diamond; not the size.

Diamond Shapes

Every diamond shape has its own unique appeal. Discover the diamond shape that reflects your personal style and relationship.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop